Portfolio Management

We only invest in investments that you understand. These are cost-efficient, transparent and liquid direct investments. Our portfolio management is anti-cyclical, long-term and disciplined. After positive stock market phases, the proportion of equities is reduced towards the target ratio and increased accordingly in downturns. We do not engage in activist trading, as this would only cause unnecessary costs for you.
How is the equity component managed?
In terms of equities, we maintain a well-diversified and value-oriented portfolio of global sector leaders. These have proven that they can create sustainable value and navigate through crises. The companies come from Western countries that meet our minimum requirements in terms of corporate governance, property rights, sustainability reporting, stock market infrastructure and political stability. The equity portfolio is supplemented by a limited number of small and medium-sized Swiss companies traded on the stock exchange (small and mid caps). By tending towards an equal weighting (instead of a capitalization weighting) – i.e. all positions are of roughly the same size – we achieve a better risk diversification in equities and thus avoid concentration risks. We actively exclude chronically low-margin sectors and unsustainable stocks.
How is portfolio management for bonds carried out?
In the case of bonds, we invest primarily in your local currency and aim to have a portfolio of high-quality securities diversified in terms of borrower types. These are both corporate bonds and bonds issued by public-sector borrowers. Due to these quality and security aspects, we do not hold perpetual, subordinated or hybrid bonds and do not hold convertible bonds or "high yield bonds". Your risk budget should be covered in the long-term by the equity ratio, while the bonds should bring security and stability to the portfolio. We therefore do not compromise on quality as a matter of conviction. We do not only rely on the official credit ratings, but also carry out our own debtor assessment. Furthermore, we also systematically monitor conspicuous price changes.
How is the anti-cyclical element in my portfolio ensured?

We ensure the anti-cyclical element at the investment category level in portfolio management for mixed mandates (i.e. all mandates that are not pure equity mandates) by setting ranges around your individually defined strategic equity ratio. We execute a re-buy during a crisis, a run on during recovery and a so-called rebalancing if the rise in the market causes the equity ratio to deviate too far from the strategic value. In this way, the share ratio is reduced anti-cyclically towards the strategic value by profit-taking. This enables us to carry out long-term, anti-cyclical management of the portfolio for you.

At the level of the individual stocks, rebalancing also takes place periodically. This involves selective profit-taking in order to bring the size of the positions back into the direction of the above-mentioned equilibrium weighting. Entire positions are sold if we conclude, based on fundamental factors, that we no longer wish to invest in a particular company in the future.

How is my portfolio built up?

When building up a new portfolio, we proceed in a stepwise manner when you bring in some liquidity. It is important for us to diversify on the time dimension, as there is no optimal timing. This is to avoid that you get the worst possible timing for your entry before a market correction. We therefore spread the construction of your portfolio over a period of time, which can be several months, depending on market developments. The opportunity cost of hedging against a suboptimal entry point is less participation during the build-up in case of rising markets.

What is the purpose of research?

Our professional analysis has the primary task, in terms of risk management, of selecting top-quality stocks and bonds that promise long-term success rather than short-term spectacle. Once evaluated, our quality values are continuously monitored. We are convinced that the liquid markets in particular are very efficient. This means that prices reflect all available information. Therefore, research as a "forecast supplier" is enormously overestimated from our point of view. There are various asset managers with hundreds of analysts; their investment performance is nevertheless often very poor. Most analysts are also inherently pro-cyclical. The stock selection we practice, on the other hand, follows a very systematic selection process with no short-term forecasting character.

Who decides on investments?

The management of the various investment categories is defined by the investment committee. The investment committee also decides on the equities admitted to our mandates and, on the bond side, on the eligible debtors. The implementation of the specific client portfolio is carried out by the relationship manager in close cooperation with the portfolio manager.

Tamara Kim
«We think and act for the long-term. We do not believe in short-term trading activities, which primarily generate costs at the expense of the client.»
Tamara Kim, Portfolio Manager
Dr. Pirmin Hotz Vermögensverwaltungen AG
Dorfstrasse 16 | 6340 Baar, Schweiz | +41 41 767 46 00
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

Portfolio Management für Privatpersonen

Wir investieren ausschliesslich in Anlagen, die Sie verstehen. Dies sind kosteneffiziente, transparente und liquide Direktanlagen. Das Portfolio Management erfolgt antizyklisch, langfristig und diszipliniert. Nach guten Börsenphasen wird der Aktienanteil in Richtung Zielquote zurückgenommen und in Baissen entsprechend aufgestockt. Aktivistisches Trading betreiben wir nicht, da dies für Sie nur unnötige Kosten verursachen würde.
Wie wird der Aktienteil umgesetzt?
Bei den Aktien führen wir ein gut diversifiziertes und wertorientiertes Portfolio aus globalen Branchenführern. Diese haben unter Beweis gestellt, dass sie eine nachhaltige Wertschöpfung erzielen und auch durch Krisen navigieren können. Die Firmen kommen aus westlich geprägten Ländern, die hinsichtlich Corporate Governance, Eigentumsrechten, Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung, Börseninfrastruktur und politischer Stabilität unseren Mindestanforderungen genügen. Ergänzt wird das Aktienportfolio durch einen begrenzten Anteil an kleinen und mittelgrossen, börsengehandelten Schweizer Unternehmen (Small and Mid Caps). Mittels tendenzieller Gleichgewichtung (anstelle einer Kapitalisierungsgewichtung) – das heisst, alle Positionen sind in etwa gleich gross – erreichen wir bei den Aktien eine bessere Risikostreuung und vermeiden dadurch Konzentrationsrisiken. Chronisch margenschwache Branchen und nicht-nachhaltige Titel werden aktiv von uns ausgeschlossen.
Wie erfolgt das Portfolio Management bei Anleihen?
Bei den Anleihen investieren wir primär in Ihrer Heimwährung und streben ein hinsichtlich Schuldnertypen diversifiziertes Portfolio aus qualitativ hochstehenden Titeln an. Dies sind sowohl Unternehmensanleihen als auch Anleihen öffentlichrechtlicher Schuldner. Aufgrund dieser Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsüberlegungen verzichten wir auf ewige, nachrangige oder hybride Anleihen und führen keine Wandelanleihen oder «High Yield Bonds». Ihr Risikobudget sollte langfristig mit der Aktienquote abgedeckt sein, während die Anleihen Sicherheit und Stabilität ins Portfolio bringen sollen. Daher machen wir aus Überzeugung keine Qualitätskompromisse. Wir verlassen uns nicht nur auf die offiziellen Credit Ratings, sondern nehmen selbst eine Schuldnerbeurteilung vor. Auch auffällige Preisveränderungen werden von uns systematisch überwacht.
Wie wird das antizyklische Element in meinem Portfolio sichergestellt?

Das antizyklische Element auf Stufe der Anlagekategorien stellen wir im Portfolio Management bei Mischmandaten (das sind alle Mandate, die nicht reine Aktienmandate sind) durch das Festsetzen von Bandbreiten rund um die für Sie individuell definierte strategische Aktienquote sicher. Es erfolgt ein Nachkauf in der Krise, das Laufenlassen bei Erholung sowie ein sogenanntes Rebalancing, wenn sich die Aktienquote durch den Anstieg des Marktes zu weit vom strategischen Wert entfernt. So wird der Aktienanteil durch Gewinnmitnahmen antizyklisch in Richtung des strategischen Wertes zurückgeführt. Dies ermöglicht uns, für Sie eine langfristige, antizyklische Steuerung des Portfolios durchzuführen.

Auf Stufe der einzelnen Titel erfolgt periodisch ebenfalls ein Rebalancing. Dabei werden selektiv Gewinnmitnahmen gemacht, um dadurch die Positionsgrössen wieder in Richtung der erwähnten Gleichgewichtung zu bringen. Ganze Positionen werden dann veräussert, wenn wir aufgrund fundamentaler Faktoren zum Schluss gelangen, dass wir künftig in ein bestimmtes Unternehmen nicht mehr investieren wollen.

Wie wird mein Portfolio aufgebaut?

Beim Aufbau eines neuen Portfolios gehen wir zeitlich gestaffelt vor, wenn Sie Liquidität einbringen. Wichtig ist uns eine Diversifikation auf der Zeitachse, da es das optimale Timing nicht gibt. Dadurch soll vermieden werden, dass Sie für den Einstieg den schlechtest möglichen Zeitpunkt vor einer Marktkorrektur erwischen. Wir streuen folglich den Aufbau Ihres Portfolios je nach Marktverlauf über eine Zeitperiode, die mehrere Monate betragen kann. Die Opportunitätskosten der Absicherung gegen einen suboptimalen Einstiegszeitpunkt sind eine geringere Partizipation während des Aufbaus im Falle von steigenden Märkten.

Wozu dient das Research?

Unsere professionelle Analyse hat primär die Aufgabe, im Sinne des Risikomanagements qualitativ erstklassige Aktien und Anleihen zu selektionieren, die langfristig Erfolg und nicht kurzfristiges Spektakel versprechen. Einmal evaluiert, werden unsere Qualitätswerte kontinuierlich überwacht. Wir sind überzeugt, dass insbesondere die liquiden Märkte sehr effizient sind. Das heisst, die Preise reflektieren alle verfügbaren Informationen. Deshalb wird Research als «Prognose-Lieferant» aus unserer Sicht enorm überschätzt. Es gibt diverse Asset Manager mit Hunderten von Analysten; deren Anlageperformance ist dennoch oft sehr ungenügend. Meist sind Analysten zudem inhärent prozyklisch. Die von uns praktizierte Titelselektion folgt dagegen einem sehr systematischen Selektionsprozess ohne kurzfristigen Prognosecharakter.

Wer entscheidet über die Anlagen?

Die Steuerung der verschiedenen Anlagekategorien wird über den Anlageausschuss definiert. Der Anlageausschuss befindet auch über die Aktien, die in unseren Mandaten zugelassen sind, sowie anleihenseitig über die zugelassenen Schuldner. Die Umsetzung des konkreten Kundenportfolios erfolgt durch den Mandatsverantwortlichen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Portfolio Manager.

Corinne Wicki
«Unsere antizyklische, transparente, kostengünstige und wissen­schaftlich fundierte Anlagepolitik führt langfristig zu einer überdurch­schnittlichen Anlage­leistung.»
Corinne Wicki, Portfolio Manager
Dr. Pirmin Hotz Vermögensverwaltungen AG
Dorfstrasse 16 | 6340 Baar, Schweiz | +41 41 767 46 00
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

Bitte JavaScript aktivieren, um das Formular zu senden